Home » Glossary Item » Cocoa beans

Cocoa beans

Posted by Svetlana Tokunova
Comments Off on Cocoa beans

Three main varieties make up the world’s production of cocoa beans: Forastero (about 90%), Criollo (less than 3%), and Trinitario (about 12%). Typically, cacao trees grow in a zone 20° to the north and south of the equator with the majority of the world crop being grown in West Africa.

The beans grow inside pods on the cacao tree. These pods are cut down, typically with machetes, and the beans extracted to be fermented which allows the chocolate flavour to develop. Following this stage, the beans are spread out to dry and are cleaned.

« Back to Glossary Index
Make the first comment

The comments are closed.